Review: The Haunting of Blackwood House by Darcy Coates

As the daughter of spiritualists, Mara’s childhood was filled with séances and scam mediums. Now she’s ready to start over with her fiancé, Neil, far away from the superstitions she’s learned to loathe…but her past isn’t willing to let her go so easily.And neither is Blackwood House.When Mara and Neil purchased the derelict property, they were warned that ever since the murder of its original owner, things have changed. Strange shadows stalk the halls. Doors creak open by themselves. Voices whisper in the night. And watchful eyes follow her every move. But Mara’s convinced she can’t possibly be in danger. She doesn’t believe in ghost stories, and she didn’t buy a haunted house―it’s just not possible.Because ghosts aren’t real… are they?

The Haunting of Blackwood House by Darcy Coates. Narrated by Piper Goodeve. Published by Findaway Voices, 2016. Runtime of 8 hours and 24 minutes. Originally published in 2015.

*Trigger Warning: Brief mention of pet death.

As long time readers of the blog already know, I LOVE Darcy’s work. I’ve mentioned that many times. This is the first time I’ve been a little annoyed at one of her books. 😮

I loved the story. The back history of the house and the ghost is beautiful. As a haunted house story, the plot is perfect! Creepy ghosts and great suspense.

My big problem with The Haunting of Blackwood House is the main character, Mara. I’m sorry but what a BITCH. >:( She is horrible!! The side characters are nice people but Mara is nothing but a C U Next Tuesday to everyone!! I understand Mara has strong opinions and beliefs, but she is just so super rude! Yes, she grows as a person by the end of the book, but she is still very unlikable even as she says she’s sorry. :/ I just never liked her at all, even as she became “nicer”.

Mara aside, the book is very entertaining. I am pretty biased though! I do love this author and I’m a huge sucker for ghosts and haunted houses. :) Not my favorite Darcy book, but still worth reading.

Leave a comment