Review: Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton


An astonishing technique for recovering and cloning dinosaur DNA has been discovered. Now humankind’s most thrilling fantasies have come true. Creatures extinct for eons roam Jurassic Park with their awesome presence and profound mystery, and all the world can visit them—for a price. Until something goes wrong. . . .

Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton. Book # 1 in the Jurassic Park duology. Narrated by Scott Brick. Published by Brilliance Audio, 2015. Run time of 15 hours and 10 minutes. Originally published in 1990.

Jurassic Park is a classic in the subcategory of dinosaur horror scifi. Is the science the most accurate? No. Are some of the characters super annoying? Yes. This does not change the fact that Jurassic park is a modern classic. 😀

Inaccurate science was not a problem for me. If I’m entertained, it is easier for me to look the other way with science that has some plot holes or is just straight up made up. Come on, it’s scifi, ok? There is a lot of made up shit in scifi. It’s not that big of a deal.

No, my biggest and only real complaint is the two children characters. Lex was absolutely horrible! >.< So obnoxious the whole time! She whined constantly, oblivious to danger or deadly dinosaurs. She was so terrible, I kept hoping a dino would eat her!!

Lex wasn’t the only rotten kid. Her brother was just as annoying. Not whinny like Lex, but a know it all. And it felt a little too unbelievable that Timmy was the only one who could figure out the computer problem at the end. :/

Part of the problem with these kid characters is that it feels like the author didn’t know how to write children characters. They felt so out of place and preposterous, sometimes I wondered If Michael had even ever seen a kid before.

Other than these two terrible kids, I had so much fun reading Jurassic Park. The dinosaur action was so cool. I was excited to read the parts that matched up with the movie, as well as reading parts that the movie had to skip. This book has been on my TBR list for a looooooooooooong time, and I know this review was a lot of ranting about characters, but I am actually really happy with JP and I’m glad I finally got around to reading it!

Leave a comment