Review: Eldritch Beasts by Primary Hollow

Chaos beckons.

A newlywed couple, Jacob and Alexa, arrive at a small mining town to visit a fabled ancient castle standing on its outskirts.

Soon after, the same town is visited by Keri – a policewoman who recently received a mysterious letter from her childhood friend.

Captured by the rural serenity, they are unaware of the malign curse festering in the soil, decaying the buildings and minds of the people living inside them.

However, a series of seemingly unrelated ghastly events quickly spiral out of control, bringing corruption into the open.

Now they must struggle to keep their lives and sanity intact or be transformed and join the ravenous ranks of the Eldritch Beasts.

This novel is perfect for fans of Lovecraftian, psychological, and body horror, and it keeps the tension building from the first to the last page.

Eldritch Beasts by Primary Hollow. Book # 1 in the Eldritch Beasts series. Published by Primary Hollow and Findaway Voices, 2023. Runtime of 7 hours and 45 minutes.

Even though I have been working on my TBR piles this year, I picked up Eldritch Beasts on a whim one day while browsing the library audiobooks. :D I have never heard of this book series or author before, but I am a big fan of cosmic horror! I figured, what the hell, lets give it a go!

Eldritch Beasts is so entertaining. Great Lovecraftian vibe. Lots of nasty beasts and plenty of gross body ick. D: I LOVED it.

There are several characters. Each chapter is a different point of view. Even though there are a ton of characters to keep tabs on, it never felt confusing who was who or what was what. It was very easy to follow what was going on in the plot. :) The plot was well balanced between all of the PoVs.

A plus is that all the characters are likable. Even the bad guys or the cranky people, I enjoyed them all. Each person’s slice of the story added more to the plot or gave clues to the back story. Nobody over stayed their welcome. Each chapter was just the right amount.

I was highly entertained with Eldritch Beasts. So happy I picked it to read. The cosmic horror was delightfully disgusting. I am excited to see it that it is a series! I can’t wait to read more from this author. 🙂

Leave a comment