Review: The Snow by Flint Maxwell

This is how the world ends: with a single snowflake.

After a tragic accident at work, all Grady Miller wanted was an escape. He finds it months later with two of his closest friends. Together, the three of them travel south to Prism Lake for the upcoming holiday, where they plan on spending the sunny weekend drinking, grilling, and relaxing.

But when a series of monstrous blizzards cover the eastern United States in feet of snow, knocking out communications and making the roads impossible to drive on, they realize their weekend of fun could turn into a lifetime of survival.

Because there’s something out there besides the cold…

Something sinister…

The Snow by Flint Maxwell. #1 in the Whiteout Series. Narrated by Matt Godfrey. Published by Tantor Audio, 2020. Runtime of 4 hours and 22 minutes.

The Snow is a book I feel like has been on my TBR shelf forEVER! It’s only been since 2020, but I sweat it feels longer?? 😮 On a cold and snowy day, I finally felt it was the right vibe to tackle this book.

Book # 1 turned out to be highly entertaining survival tale. Plenty of set up for the series is packed into a short book. The set up never felt like over kill though. Always just the right amount. A perfect balance between set up, action, and the mysterious plot unfolding.

I really enjoyed the cast of characters. Everyone is pleasant and I liked being in their company. The main character is relatable and charming. I adored the characters and hoped for a positive outcome for all of them. Crazy!

The plot is engaging and I was super curious what was going on! What caused the snowmageddon? What are these creatures out in the snow? Where did they come from?? Don’t expect many answers, though. This is less about answers and more about just trying to survive.

The Snow is fun, quick and exciting read. A little bit of set up and a great premise that keeps you hooked. I had a blast reading this and I’m excited to (snow) plow my way through this series! 😀

One thought on “Review: The Snow by Flint Maxwell

Leave a comment